On the rest of this site: Home | Courses | CV | Publications | Abstracts

Photo: Barbara Ries 2015

Manuel R. Vargas is a Professor of Philosophy at the University of California, San Diego. His research focuses on the overlap of moral, psychological, and legal issues concerning human agency and freedom. He also writes about Latinx and Latin American philosophy, especially the history of Mexican philosophy.

His account of free will and moral responsibility,
Building Better Beings: A Theory of Moral Responsibility (OUP, 2013), won the American Philosophical Association's Book Prize in 2015, an award given every two years for the best book in philosophy by a younger scholar. In 2004, he was a recipient of the first American Philosophical Association Prize in Latin American Thought. Vargas is also co-author, with John Martin Fischer, Robert Kane, and Derk Pereboom, of Four Views on Free Will (Blackwell, 2007), and with Gideon Yaffe, he co-edited Rational and Social Agency: The Philosophy of Michael Bratman (OUP, 2014).

In conjunction with Santiago Amaya (U. de los Andes), Vargas co-directs a $1.2 million project funded by the John Templeton Foundation to foster philosophical work on free will, agency, and responsibility in Latin America.
He has held year-long research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, and the Stanford Humanities Center. Additionally, he has  been a Visiting Fellow at the McCoy Center for Ethics in Society at Stanford University, and has held visiting appointments at the University of California, Berkeley, the California Institute of Technology, and Stanford University. Previously, he was a Professor of Philosophy and Law at the University of San Francisco.

A webpage and complete list of publications can be found here:

Other pages with publication information include:
GoogleScholar page

You can email him here.

Mailing address:
UCSD Dept. of Philosophy
9500 Gilman Drive #0119
La Jolla, CA  92093-0119